Download | Helpline | Medical | Roster | Fee | Contact | Home |


About the College

Satyawati College, a constituent College of the University of Delhi, was established in the year 1972 by the Government of Delhi. The College is named after a great freedom fighter, Behen (Sister) Satyawati, grand­-daughter of Swami Shradhanand, who worked in close association with leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Jawahar Lal Nehru, Jai Prakash Narain and Sarojini Naidu. She worked tirelessly till her death for uprooting poverty, ignorance and communalism. She was named Toofani Behen (Stormy Sister) by Mahatma Gandhi for her zeal and commitment.
The College is centrally located in Ashok Vihar, North Delhi and has a sprawling campus spread over an area of 10 acres. It is a co-educational institution and attracts students from all strata of the society. The College is proud to have the magnificent, state of the art 'Satya Auditorium', one of the best in the University of Delhi. It is surely going to greatly enhance the activities in the spheres of academics, arts and add to co-curricular activities. In order to help the students to excel their sports capabilities, College has a full-fledged Sports Department situated in a separate block. It also takes care of the special training needs of the persons with disabilities.
The College has a modern well-equipped Seminar Room, Computer Laboratory and a fully computerized and air-conditioned Dr. Haldar Memorial Library which has rich collections of books and periodicals.

Organization Setup

The college is governed by the Governing Body (G.B) consisting of 20 members:
12 members from Government of Delhi
2 members from University of Delhi
2 Principal's from both the college's
4 Teacher representative from both the college's
The Governing body is headed by the Chairman of the governing body. The Chairman is elected among the constituted members of the Governing Body.The college is headed by the Principal as well as who is the executive officer of the college. The principal is assisted by Vice-Principal, Bursar, Administrative Officer, Librarian, SO (Accounts), SO (Admin.).

Organization Hierarchy

1.) Principal
2.) Vice-Principal
3.) Administrative Officer - assisted by Section Officers
4.) Librarian - assisted by Professional and Semi-Professional Assistants